Fatih Kansoy

Journal guide

Understand the journal columns

Read each value with its source, year and definition. Citation measures, journal lists and submission conditions answer different questions.

Start with the year and category

A metric year is the year measured; a release date is when the provider publishes it. For example, a 2025 JIF can be released in 2026. A date marked Checked records when we consulted the source.

A category rank must name its category and comparison group: 12 / 340 · Finance · 2025 means twelfth among 340 titles in that source's Finance category that year. This is an illustrative example. It is not a rank across all journals or across this catalogue. A journal can have several category ranks.

Select a journal name for its profile, original sources, dates, conditions and journal homepage. Higher citation values do not by themselves establish stronger field reputation, suitability for a paper or eligibility under an institution's promotion rules.

Journal lists and academic standing

FT · Financial Times research list

Membership of the journal list used in the FT business-school research ranking. Yes means included in the named edition; it is not a numerical journal rank. The catalogue uses the list updated on 29 April 2026. FT journal list

ABDC · Australian Business Deans Council

The Journal Quality List classifies journals as A*, A, B or C, from the highest category down. We identify the edition and workbook revision separately: 2025 list, September 2026 revision. A title not found in the checked list has no verified ABDC grade here. ABDC list and review

AJG / ABS · Academic Journal Guide

The Chartered Association of Business Schools' guide uses 4*, 4, 3, 2 and 1. A 4* is distinct from a 4. The current edition checked here is AJG 2024; individual ratings that require authorised access are labelled Access restricted. Older supplied ratings are not silently presented as current. AJG and ABDC are separate guides. AJG 2024

UTD24 · UT Dallas journal list

Membership of the 24-journal list used in the UT Dallas business-school research rankings. This is another defined publication set, rather than a universal quality score. UT Dallas journal list

Use these lists alongside a journal's scope, readership, editorial board and the conventions of your field. Requirements for hiring, tenure and promotion depend on the institution and its current rules. Journal-level measures do not assess the quality of an individual paper. DORA recommendations

Citation measures and ranks

JIF · Journal Impact Factor

Clarivate's Journal Citation Reports measure. A year's JIF divides citations in that year to the journal's previous two years of content by its citable items from those two years. The numerator and denominator cover different document sets. Read the metric year beside the value; a publisher number with no stated year is labelled accordingly. Clarivate's JIF explanation

CiteScore · Scopus citation value

Elsevier's Scopus measure uses a four-year window: citations received during those four years by eligible documents published in the same four years, divided by those documents. Eligible types are articles, reviews, conference papers, book chapters and data papers. Read the year with the value. A current-year CiteScore Tracker is provisional and is not the completed annual CiteScore. CiteScore methodology

Scopus rank and percentile

A CiteScore rank compares a title with other titles in one Scopus subject category and year. A smaller rank number means a higher position; a higher percentile means a higher relative standing. Each rank needs its category and denominator. The dashboard follows the active Finance or Economics and Econometrics filter. The Miscellaneous filter uses Scopus's General Economics, Econometrics and Finance category. A title's SCImago category can differ from its Scopus category, so an SJR category match does not guarantee an available CiteScore rank in that category.

With All selected, the dashboard shows the category with the highest verified CiteScore percentile; ties use category names in alphabetical order. The full profile lists the verified categories. Sorting uses the selected percentile, since rank numbers with different denominators are not directly comparable. An SJR rank is not a substitute for this Scopus CiteScore rank. Scopus percentile explanation

SJR · SCImago Journal Rank

A citation measure published by SCImago using Scopus data. It weights citations according to the influence of their sources and uses a three-year publication window. The SJR value is a score; a category rank is the title's position in a named SCImago category and year. These are different observations; SJR category ranks appear in the full profiles. SCImago indicator definitions

Q1–Q4 · Quartile

A category's ranked titles are grouped into four quartiles. Q1 is the highest quarter; Q4 is the lowest. The dashboard's SJR quartile refers to SCImago, the named category and the displayed year. A journal may be Q1 in one category and Q2 in another. Mixed means the checked categories have different quartiles. This is separate from a JCR/JIF quartile or a CiteScore quartile.

Compare like with like: the same measure, year and relevant category. JIF, CiteScore and SJR have different data coverage, document rules and citation windows. Their values cannot be exchanged or combined into a single quality scale.

Web of Science indexing

The index column names the verified Web of Science Core Collection coverage. A combined label such as SSCI + SCIE means both indexes were reported by the checked source.

SSCI
Social Sciences Citation Index.
SCIE
Science Citation Index Expanded.
ESCI
Emerging Sources Citation Index.
AHCI / A&HCI
Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

SCI and SCIE: which label appears here?

SCI means Science Citation Index, an older name still encountered in policies and publisher descriptions. SCIE means Science Citation Index Expanded. Clarivate's current Master Journal List scope notes state that SCIE includes SCI. We display the source's current SCIE coverage label rather than inventing a second, separate SCI membership.

SSCI is the separate social-sciences index. A journal may be in both SSCI and SCIE. If an institutional rule specifically says “SCI”, its interpretation should be checked against that institution's current requirements. Clarivate's SCI/SCIE scope notes

Index coverage is checked separately from Scopus inclusion, JIF and quartile; none of those alone proves SSCI or SCIE membership. JIF coverage was extended to AHCI and ESCI with the 2023 Journal Citation Reports release, reporting 2022 metrics. An older guide saying these indexes cannot have a JIF is out of date. Clarivate's current JIF coverage · Master Journal List · Index descriptions

Publisher and journal identity

The publisher column names the organisation publishing or hosting the journal, as recorded in the linked source. An academic society may own a journal while a separate publisher operates it. Publisher names are not quality grades. Each profile includes the journal's verified title, ISSN where available and journal-homepage link.

Submission costs, timing and acceptance

Submission fee

A charge for submitting a manuscript, shown in its original currency. Member, non-member, student and other rates can differ; the profile records conditions and refunds where reported. This is separate from an open-access article processing charge (APC), page charges or society membership. Not reported does not mean free. A zero fee requires a checked source.

Compare amounts within the same currency and applicable rate. Currency amounts are not directly comparable without a stated exchange rate and date.

OA charge · Open-access APC

An article processing charge for making an accepted paper open access. Some journals require it; others offer an optional open-access route alongside publication without an OA charge. The displayed amount retains its original currency, taxes, waiver and eligibility conditions where reported. It is separate from a fee paid to submit a paper. An unreported APC does not establish that publication is free.

First decision · Days

The publisher's reported time to the first editorial decision. It can include fast desk rejections. A first decision after external review measures a different stage and usually a different manuscript group. Mean and median also differ. The profile preserves the source's definition and reporting period; neither measure promises how long your paper will take.

Acceptance rate

The share of submissions accepted under the source's definition and reporting period. Read the cohort and denominator where available: decisions on a submission cohort differ from acceptances divided by submissions received in one calendar year. Recent cohorts may still have undecided papers. An invitation to revise and resubmit is not final acceptance.

Publication time

Submission to acceptance, acceptance to online publication and time to an assigned issue are separate intervals. We keep their original labels rather than merging them into one processing-time figure.

Journal policies and publisher statistics can change during the year. Follow the profile's instructions-for-authors link before submitting; the date checked does not create a guarantee for a later submission.

Annual documents · SCImago

Output / SJR docs · 2025 means SCImago's total documents published in 2025. It includes all document types, both citable and non-citable. It is not a count of research articles alone, an acceptance rate or the number of available publication slots.

Publisher article counts and Crossref DOI-record counts may differ because they cover different items and dates. When those counts appear, they retain their own source and definition. The catalogue also contains book series; their source type is shown in the profile. SCImago documents definition

What missing-data labels mean

Not checked / Unverified
No sufficiently verified value is available in this catalogue yet.
Not reported
The checked source did not disclose this information.
Not found in list
The journal was not matched in the named list edition; this is not a zero grade.
Access restricted
The original record requires access that was unavailable for verification.
Source unavailable
The source could not be read during the check; absence of the fact has not been established.
Year / Period not stated
The source supplies a number without a usable metric year or reporting period.
Source conflict
Checked sources disagree. The profile preserves the competing values and dates.
Historical / Estimate
A past or estimated figure is retained with its original scope; it is not a current confirmed value.

Missing values are never converted to zero. A checked No, a sourced 0 and an unknown value have different meanings.

Sort the table

Select a column heading to sort; select it again to reverse the direction. The small ? beside a heading opens the relevant guide entry. Journal and publisher names sort alphabetically, list membership groups Yes and No, and grades follow their stated order. Missing values stay last in both directions.

The ABS column refers to the AJG 2024 guide. Its grade order is 4*, 4, 3, 2, 1 on the first click. Restricted, unverified and older-edition entries are excluded from current-grade sorting and stay last. Restricted means the individual rating has not been verified through the official guide; it does not mean the journal is unlisted.

Fee and APC amounts are grouped by their original currency in alphabetical order, then sorted numerically within each currency. No exchange-rate conversion is applied. Scopus ranks sort by the selected category percentile. Decision times and acceptance rates sort by the reported numeric value; their original periods and definitions remain available in the profile. A sorted table does not remove those differences.